Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 4th, 2013

from barrylyga.com

Following the events of I Hunt Killers, Jazz Dent, son of notorious serial killer Billy Dent, continues to look to prove himself.  He’d also like to move to the next step with his girlfriend, Connie, but being the son of Billy Dent complicates things for Jazz.    However, crime never sleeps, and there is a new serial killer stalking and murdering on the streets of New York.     Thanks to his role in the Impressionist case, the NYPD taps Jazz to work on the case.   Soon, Jazz is walking the bustling and unfamiliar streets to catch this new killer.   Does Jazz have what it takes to catch this killer?

I greatly enjoyed I Hunt Killers and was just as impressed by Game.  Lyga expertly portrays the gritty (and gory) details to suck you right into the story.  The plot twists and turns, and you constantly question whether you fully understand what’s going on.  There were several points where I thought I knew the answer, but Lyga quickly buried me in new information that made me doubt whether I had it right.   The characters were great–Jazz had some great character development.  As a reader, I liked seeing more of his vulnerability but thought Lyga also made you doubt him as well.  Billy continues to be one of the most scarily written characters I’ve come across.   Just like I Hunt Killers, one should exercise caution when giving this to younger teens, but older teens and adults alike will enjoy this new book by Barry Lyga.  I’m looking forward to seeing where this series is going.

Read Full Post »